Historic Annual Tuition Rates

The Historic Annual Tuition Rates reports provide information on undergraduate and graduate tuition rates for resident and nonresident students by campus. The reports also include annual percentage increase rates for the different tuition rates.

Rates for the Twin Cities, Duluth, and Morris campuses go back to 1960-61. Crookston rates go back to 1970-71 and Rochester to 2009-10, both corresponding to the year they first enrolled students.

1960-61 to 2023-24

The University of Minnesota has many different tuition rates. In addition to the basic rates for undergraduate and graduate students, both resident and nonresident, there are separate rates for students in the professional programs of law, medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, and veterinary medicine, as well as special rates for many graduate programs (e.g., M.B.A., M.Ed., etc.).

Until 1999-00, when the University changed to a semester calendar, there were also multiple rates at the undergraduate level going all the way back to 1960-61. Until 1999-00, the University had a lower rate for lower division students and a higher rate for upper division students. For many years there were also different upper division rates for each college on the Duluth and Twin Cities campuses.

The tuition rates for undergraduate students on the Duluth and Twin Cities campuses in this history are the upper division rates for students in the College of Liberal Arts on each campus, since this is the annual rate that most students would have paid.

The rates for all campuses from 2001-02 through 2010-2011 include the University Fee.

Starting in the 2008-09 academic year,  nonresident undergraduate incoming freshmen on the Twin Cities campus were assessed a tuition rate $4,000 above the resident tuition rate.  Successive classes were phased in during 2009-10 and 2010-11.  Beginning in 2011-12, all Twin Cities non-resident undergraduates were assessed an identical tuition rate.

Before Fall 2008, undergraduate students from Wisconsin paid a reciprocity rate based on the tuition they would have been charged at a comparable University of Wisconsin campus under terms of the tuition reciprocity agreement between Minnesota and Wisconsin. Beginning Fall 2008, Wisconsin undergraduate students that qualify for reciprocity pay the UMN resident tuition rate for the campus of attendance.

Students from Manitoba, North Dakota, and South Dakota pay Minnesota resident tuition rates under terms of the respective tuition reciprocity agreements that have been negotiated by the state of Minnesota.

Crookston Campus
Crookston did not become a University campus until 1970-71, and it did not become a 4-year campus until 1993-94.
The nonresident rate for students on the Crookston campus was eliminated in 1999-00.

Morris Campus
The nonresident rate for students on the Morris campus was eliminated in 2002-03 and reinstated in 2016-17.

Related Reports